70-740 failed 605/700

N7ValiantN7Valiant Member Posts: 363 ■■■■□□□□□□
It went a bit better than I expected to be honest, as taking the practice exam that was provided as part of the CBT nuggets package only netted me 32% as far as their scoring was concerned.

My background is an AS in IT and coming up on 3 months of professional IT work experience. I have never set up a Windows Server before, nor worked much more intimately with them beyond creating and disabling user accounts in AD, testing backups(which usually means restoring one text or image file from a week ago and opening it), and glancing at the event viewer logs with glazed eyeballs.

I was admittedly under-prepared for this exam as I feel I would have needed another month to really lab it up. About a month or so into the job I was told that everybody needs to schedule an exam for one cert or another before the end of April, so given that I already had the 3 basic CompTIA certs that everyone else(with years of experience) were going for, I decided something higher level like the MCSA would be beneficial given that I didn't feel I had a good enough proficiency with networking in general to be taking CCNA.

I finished the 14 hours of CBT Nuggets video on the series about 3 days before exam day, got about 1/3 of the way through the study guide by William Panek that the guy who told us to get certs lent me, and barely managed to rack up many lab hours because the CBT labs were slow, unresponsive, and anything involving Nano Server was broken because Microsoft changed something and now they can't communicate with the network in the virtual labs. I was still configuring my own Windows Server 2016 in a Hyper-V environment in a PC I had just built when exam day rolled around and time was up.

I felt I scored pretty close given the gap in knowledge and experience I had, and hopefully this might be a good baseline to judge the preparation needed, which to me consists of: