Options

Just Finished For578 Course and Coinslayer Netwars

sb97sb97 Member Posts: 109
JCundiff gave a great summary of the course here:
http://www.techexams.net/forums/sans-institute-giac-certifications/131868-sans-578-cyber-threat-intelligence-course-reivew.html

My experience was different than his but still very good. To start with, my background is SOC Analyst/IR but am moving towards the CTI space. I would also say the make up of my class was more heavily weighted with people that were already working in well established CTI functions. There were a lot of former gov't and military in my class. My instructor was Rob M. Lee. In my class there was a pretty wide range of people that were willing to engage and talk. Maybe 50-60% of the people were willing to talk. There were times when Rob would almost stop the class to get some of the folks in the back to engage a bit.

This class itself focused on analytic techniques. The labs were not super technical. They all built on a scenario and each lab showed how different techniques could contribute to the CTI process. Rob kept reminding people that not every technique would be relevant to everyone. People just needed to find what works for them. The point was to expose them to different ways of working through issues and helping them identify bias. I came away with a few things i wanted to bring back to my organization pretty much right away. The focus on this class is the discussions rather than the labs. After taking it, I am glad I did it in person rather than on demand. The discussions with your classmates really contribute to the overall experience. My team won a challenge coin during the capstone which really made my day.