Should I get my AA degree?

Basic85Basic85 Member Posts: 189 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello, I have a previous AA degree in general education/studies with a low gpa below 3.0 and was wondering if I should get my AA degree in computer networking at another junior college? I have a 3.43 gpa at my other college and have completed the core major classes for an AA degree and would basically need to transfer my credits over from my previous college and maybe have to take an extra class or two for GE to obtain my AA. Hopefully I don't have to to take any or too many extra GE classes. I'm concerned that it may lower gpa but I'm willing to take a slight hit as long as it stayed above 3.0. If I do decide to get my AA than I'll most likely go on to some online university like WGU to obtain my 2nd bachelors in IT. Only a handful of employers or less have asked for my GPA and I've never been asked for my transcripts.

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance! :)

Comments

• EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You already have a Bachelor's and you're thinking of going back for a 2nd Associates? While I think that taking classes to gain a skill is the right thing to do, a 2nd degree at the same level is mostly useless. Look at the course list, how many of these are classes you want to take and have a certification associated with them? Take the class for the info it offers, skip the extra degree. Same thing holds for the 2nd Bachelor's, mostly useless.
  • Basic85Basic85 Member Posts: 189 ■■■□□□□□□□
    EANx wrote: »
    You already have a Bachelor's and you're thinking of going back for a 2nd Associates? While I think that taking classes to gain a skill is the right thing to do, a 2nd degree at the same level is mostly useless. Look at the course list, how many of these are classes you want to take and have a certification associated with them? Take the class for the info it offers, skip the extra degree. Same thing holds for the 2nd Bachelor's, mostly useless.