Need Advise. Making move to Cloud/Security after 10 years in IT

rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

I have been in Federal IT consulting for about 10 years specializing SharPoint migrations, Office 365 architecture. My primary focus has been on security office 365 data across our big organization while rolling out tools like MS Teams. I am looking to make a move to Cloud architecture and Security and have a couple of questions on what the right certifications to get me going. I have a masters in Network security from 2008 but things have changed dramatically since then. Which of the following options are practical and most effective?

1) Security + and Cloud+ to get a solid understanding of the basics
2) AWS Cloud practitioner and the Microsoft Azure equivalent to it

With 3 small kids my goal is not land a 24/7 night shift SOC role. I did it for 2 years. Iam looking to make the right decision and to invest my time wisely.

Thank you!
J

Comments

• EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you want to do almost anything with DOD or DHS, Security+ is one of your first-stops, other civilian agencies will be hit-or-miss on that requirement.

Both AWS and Azure are big in the Federal space right now. If you simply want to make yourself marketable in the space, you can't go wrong with either but if you work for an agency with a very specialized culture (DOD and State come to mind), you might want to leverage that experience and try to read the political tea-leaves to see which way that agency is headed. Really headed because it's not unusual for an agency to have several cloud initiatives underway at the same time.
  • rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you! That is a great input. I was also looking into something vendor neutral like ISC2 CCSP
  • LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    rs23 wrote: »
    Thank you! That is a great input. I was also looking into something vendor neutral like ISC2 CCSP