Some help with AWS,

dony2015dony2015 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am an experience IT professional with substantial years of experience behind me. I am in a delinma here with a decision. I have some budget now for training on AWS, the problem is, I don't know what route to take. I am a contractor though. I have some money to train for AWS but, I need to know where I will get ROI back.
I am looking at option 1: AWS Devops, Sysops, Solution Arch, all Associate level.
Also looking at option 2: Solution Arch Associate followed by Solution Arch prof. Which of the 2 options is likely to get me a better return on investiment as a contractor? I am based in London and there is a lot of contract AWS jobs around.

Comments

• cochi78cochi78 Member Posts: 72 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi there,

AWS instructor and consultant here. Having a SolA Professional will most probably yield more recognition than the three associates. I know of people who passed all associates on the same day, that's not too much of a challenge if you're a good learner. And there's enough mid-twenties in that league around ;)

The Solution Architect Professional on the other hand is really hard to achieve, it's an exam which is exhausting and in my case I'd say the two AWS Professionals were the most challenging of my 40 exams so far. It's not easy to achieve, you should plan 3-4 weeks full time studies for it after attending the official training. In addition you should get the usual acloud.guru prep courses and the Whizlabs practice exams. Preparation for that includes all service FAQs and most whitepapers. Stay away from the official practice exams on aws.training - and go for the "old" SolA associate exam, as 3rd party preparation materials out there mostly are not yet updated for the new edition.

If you're a good learner, you can get from zero to Pro within 6-8 weeks if you allot enough preparation time and use the right tools.