CISM passed 03 August

Nick_Nack_Paddy_WhackNick_Nack_Paddy_Whack Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

A long time lurker here. I've just registered to give my feedback on the CISM exam. I sat and passed my CISM exam today at the first attempt. I self-funded it and took advantage of the ISACA discount code which was emailed out at the end of July so the exam cost a total of $450. I've got about 12 years of experience of working in cyber security and am also a 27001 LA. My background is SOC / Consultancy / Risk / Compliance / Training and I have worked as an ITSO as well.

In terms of preparation, I bought access to the official QAE database in April and just smashed out the questions until I was happy with the explanation of why I got particular questions wrong - I forget who mentioned it on here but I was at pains to not just remember the question and answer from the previous time I attempted it. Due to other work commitments, I did study for a week or two at a time and then took a break of over a month. I studied in short bursts as and when possible. I went into the exam today with an average of 86% after 75 hours of study time with my scores in the domains as follows.

Domain 1 - 86%
Domain 2 - 84%
Domain 3 - 86%
Domain 4 - 88%

I did have a wobble and did a 30 problem question session this morning just before the exam which resulted in a score of 60% (my lowest in a LONG time) - I recommend you don't do that if you're of a nervous disposition! :D