Options

Should I skip GSEC and go right into the more specialized courses?

SolomonGrundySolomonGrundy Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello. Newbie question here.
I am a college student, working on my bachelors and masters in computer science, with a concentration in cyber security.

I am in the Scholarship for Service Cybercorps program, and I get to take a free certification.

Since I am likely getting just the one:
Would it be better to take the GSEC, and get a wide range of knowledge(a good portion, I am worried, might be covered in my studies, and be a waste of a cert) with good recognition but not so much depth

or

Take the Security+ for wide knowledge and resume recognition(won't be as in depth as a GSEC, I know), and use my free certification to take something more specialized?

And if the latter, are there any recommendations? I'm not really interested in red teaming, but the forensics things and system hardening things I have done have been interesting so far.

I'm sorry if this seems a basic question. I just don't want to waste a chance.

Comments

• Options
    LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
    my take for GSEC course is that the course mainly useful for those who are looking into securing and administrating windows ad and linux/windows servers. It also touches on certain areas such as security policies, introduction to incident response and packet analysis. If securing and administrating windows ad and linux/windows servers isn't something you are looking at as part of your career objective, it is totally okay for you to go into those more specialized courses.

I highly recommend considering SANS courses that are heavier on the hands-on since you are going to pay the same amount of money. Might as well spend the money on a course with more hands than a course that is more theory based. Most of these courses are related to packet analysis, penetration testing, memory forensic and reverse malware engineering.