Options

CCNP Route Log

nothimagainnothimagain Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
Decided on making a thread to log my progress and also hold myself accountable towards my goal of getting my CCNP . Right now im preparing for my first exam CCNP ROUTE. I studied for a month in March and then went on a hiatus. I started back up with my studies in August and have been going hard ever since. So far i've covered EIGRP/V6 ,OSPF/v3, and now finishing up route redistribution.

Ive been in the networking field for roughly a year and got my CCNA back in February. I work as Jr Net Engineer so im getting some real exposure on this stuff as well. Im trying to get all three exams done by March of next year and take my first test in December this year.

For study material i've been using the following:

CCNP Route OCG
INE CCNP Route and Switch video series
Kevin Wallace Videos from the OCG Book(Safari books has it for free)
Cisco Official Docs(whenever i feel like INE or the book didnt go deep enough)
CCIE TCP/IP books(when i feel like INE or the ocg didnt go deep enough)
GNS3 for most of my labbing
INE's CCNP workbook
Rack rentals(only when i want to do a lab from INE workbook)
but my main sources so far has been OCG and INE.

I usually study around 2-3 hours at work depending how many things we got going on and then another 2-3 hours at home. I havent been studying on weekends but thats changed as of last week. Ill also be doing 2-3 hours on Saturdays and Sundays.

EDIT UPDATE ON STUDY MATERAL:

For IPv6 and a lot of the other misc topics the book and the videos do NOT cover enough so i started to dive deeper by reading the following:

RFCs
IPv6 Fundamentals: A Straightforward Approach
Way More Cisco Doc,Whitepapers, and Configuration guides
Random Youtube videos

I know i might end up going a little deeper than i have to but one of my goals is to also achieve the CCIE right after my CCNP so either way im going to have to know this stuff .

Comments

• Options