Am i underselling myself with Security+ certification and not CISSP? Please read

rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have 10 years Federal consulting experience and have a MS in Computer and Network security from 2008. I let my CCNA and CEH expire a few years ago as i shifted to middle management. I serve as a technology lead for our corporate teams advising on solution mainly in Office 365/Cloud migrations and have worked previous in NOC/SOC and ISO 27001 audits.

I started my Security+ certification prep but a lot of my friends/peers feel i am aiming too low and should do CISSP and CCSP or CCSK since my end goal is to do cloud security. At 40 with 3 kids/wife i dont have too much time to waste and need to get a couple of certs under my belt for better opportunities. What do you guys think?

Thank you

Comments

• tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Many people (myself included) see Security+ as a stepping stone and not a final destination. A lot of Security+ material is covered in CISSP. Consider continuing your Security+ studies and then go right into CISSP when you pass. Getting that first certification will give you the confidence and the practice you need to pursue something higher. Also, look at the CISSP requirements. If you don't have the necessary experience, you could still take and pass CISSP, but you would not be awarded the certification until you have gained the appropriate level of experience.
  • RinzlerRinzler Member Posts: 34 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree with tedjames. Think of it as 'Security+ CE' as making the cake then 'CISSP' as masterfully putting the icing on the cake. Good luck...

icon_study.gif
  • rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Just curious, how easy is to recertify through CPE for both?
  • Tekn0logyTekn0logy Member Posts: 113 ■■■■□□□□□□
    rs23 wrote: »