Options

Attorney seeking GLEG cert?

LAWYER2LAWYER2 Member Posts: 37 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited July 2019 in GIAC
I'm wondering what all is invovled in obtaining the GLEG certification and whther it would be worth pursuing?
Admittedly, I had no idea what a GLEG was and stumbled across this certification  looking up NIST CF certs. I noticed SANs offers 5-day training courses, but I'm wondering is it possible to pass with self-study? I currently work in the Data Privacy Law field so I have a pretty good overview of many of the concepts offered in the training. 

*ETA* My ultimate goal is likely a CPO role or chief privacy council. I'm currently a Data Privacy SME, being a lawyer is a second career, went to law school part-time evenings at age 35. Worked in IT 15+ years as a sys/network admin and IT Director.

Comments

• Options
    MrsWilliamsMrsWilliams Member Posts: 192 ■■■■□□□□□□
    LAWYER2 said:
    I'm wondering what all is invovled in obtaining the GLEG certification and whther it would be worth pursuing?
    Admittedly, I had no idea what a GLEG was and stumbled across this certification  looking up NIST CF certs. I noticed SANs offers 5-day training courses, but I'm wondering is it possible to pass with self-study? I currently work in the Data Privacy Law field so I have a pretty good overview of many of the concepts offered in the training. 

*ETA* My ultimate goal is likely a CPO role or chief privacy council. I'm currently a Data Privacy SME, being a lawyer is a second career, went to law school part-time evenings at age 35. Worked in IT 15+ years as a sys/network admin and IT Director.
    It's possible to pass any GIAC certification with self study. 

The issue is, when you have the course materials and a home made index (based off the course materials), you can quickly go through the index and find the answer during the exam. If that doesn't work, you can go to your books where the answer is guaranteed to be at.