RIP Confusion

netwickednetwicked Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey there... I realize this might be a really basic question, but I'm just starting out here...

I don't understand the difference between using RIPv2 and using the no auto-summary command.

Using RIPv2 will send RIP updates consisting of the Network Number plus the Subnet Mask that is being used for the Network number.

By default RIP summarizes the advertised route at its classfull boundary. So sending the SNM will allow the receiver to know the subnets.

How is this different than using "no auto-summary?"

If we tell RIP not to summarize its advertisements, isn't that the same thing as it sending the Network ID plus Subnet mask?

I'm trying to follow an example here: http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccie/40010-my-rip-doubts.html
but still having some trouble.

Comments

• EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Two different features."Auto-summary" is used at major network boundaries wheras RIPv2s ability to send an update with a mask it benificial for varying the subnet length within a classful network address.

RIPv2 by default behaves like Ripv1 and will summarize at the major network boundary.
    As an example

R1
    R2
    R3
    10.0.0.1/30
    10.0.0.2/30 | 151.98.16.1/30
    151.98.16.2/30

RIPv2 on R2 by default will perform an auto-summary sending 10.0.0.0/8 towards R3 rather than 10.0.0.0/30, and RIPv2 on R2 will send 151.98.0.0/16 towards R1 rather than 151.98.16.1/30.
    If "no auto-summary" was configured on R2, the /30 routes would be sent rather than the major net summaries.

RIPv1 is classful,it doesnt send the subnet mask in advertisements,RIPv2 is classless,it does send the mask.