Starting CCNA/CCENT training. Nervous

IT Guy I HopeIT Guy I Hope Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I just registered for entry level Cisco training at my local night school. I will be taking a Cisco 1, and Cisco 2 class, basically to prepare for CCNA and CCENT. (I will also need to take a Cisco 3 and Cisco 4 class before I even consider taking the exam though, but that is next semester.)

I have little experience in networking, mainly at home using basic Action Tec or Lynksys routers. I am just hoping for some inspiration as I am a little discouraged. Cisco sounds difficult.

I just got my A+ certification last month and decided to skip network+ for now and just go straight for the Cisco training.

Anyway, those of you who were once noobs like me, what am I getting in to here? Am I looking at an exciting time, tinkering with the all powerful cisco routers, or is this boring and repetitive?

Thanks a lot guys (and girls, any girls here?) I really appreciate this forum.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Anyway, those of you who were once noobs like me, what am I getting in to here? Am I looking at an exciting time, tinkering with the all powerful cisco routers, or is this boring and repetitive?

That totally depends on you. My advice is to expect to be overwhelmed at the onset. However, you'll find if you stick with it, what gave you a hard time a little while ago, now seems like common sense. Just prepare yourself to commit to your final goal and see it through; otherwise, you're going to end up discouraged.
    Thanks a lot guys (and girls, any girls here?) I really appreciate this forum.

I can think of at least five!

Good luck, and welcome to the forums!
  • darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    To add on to Dynamik's response, compare it to running. You may think you could never run a marathon, but with practice those miles you add to your routine get easier and easier. =p