Just turned 18, Need advice?

ScytheX10ScytheX10 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I registered on this site to study some of the material for the various exams. Certain things in my past cut me off from High School and I just recently took the GED, which I am still awaiting the results, I'm sure I passed.. It was easy stuff. Once I receive the GED I plan on a couple of things, such as going to college for CIT Sec and or certifications, but onto the real question; What should be my priorities in the IT world? I like to think that I have a lot of knowledge and 'self' experience with IT but those two alone won't cut it, I need proof to show that I can handle myself on these subjects. I plan on going to college in the spring, which is around 4-6 months from now; 4-6 months is enough time for a CompTIA certification course at my local college. But should I be trying to get a cert before I step into college for my 2yr in the spring? I'm just a bit confused on the whole thing, and in need of advice. Also, my interest in the IT area is mainly networking and security.

Edit - If it helps, my long term goals are working in the IT Security area, wherever it may be.

Thanks

- Scythe

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Which CompTIA certs are you looking at? You could probably do them in a couple months with only self-study; I really wouldn't pay for CompTIA courses. You might want to start with the Security+ and/or CCNA if those are your interests.

What type of degree are you going to be working on?

Welcome to the forums :D
  • ScytheX10ScytheX10 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote: »
    Which CompTIA certs are you looking at? You could probably do them in a couple months with only self-study; I really wouldn't pay for CompTIA courses. You might want to start with the Security+ and/or CCNA if those are your interests.

What type of degree are you going to be working on?

Welcome to the forums :D