Got a Offer Letter!

t3ch_gurut3ch_guru Member Posts: 166
I got a offer letter today. My title will be a LAN Administrator. But, the price is not up to par. I have a degree. I been with the company for 1 year now. That is the only professional experience I got. They offer me 35k. I do not know if i should take it. The person I work with is leaving, so they are in a situation now. I think I am worth 40k even though I have no certs and just a degree. I am working on my certs. What do you guys think. I like the company, but I feel that 40k would be best for me.

Thanks in advance.
Knowledge is Power.

Comments

• sharptechsharptech Member Posts: 492 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If you think you are worth more and can justify it to the company, then do a counter-offer stating what you want and why you are worth it. Most of the time when a company makes an offer they will low ball you and expect a counter offer.

I asked some about this as well in one of my recent threads, you might want to take a look as well.

Good luck and congrats on the offer letter!
  • crrussell3crrussell3 Member Posts: 561
    You could always come back with a counter offer stating that you will accept the 35k, but when you get your certs they bump it up to 40k.

That way it can be a win-win for both parties, as it gets you on the job experience, plus you are gaining certification knowledge along the way.

If you do do this, make sure you get it in writing :)
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Always try to negotiate. If you know the previous guy's salary that will make it even easier. Otherwise just as mentioned work out a game plan to put a dollar amount to what you are bringing to the company.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • KasorKasor Member Posts: 933 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Know the limit and don't take too much risk in today market.
    Kill All Suffer T "o" ReBorn