Options

Meyers Network+ or N10-004 Exam Cram?

digitallyinclineddigitallyinclined Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone. I'm a network administrator that's been studying for the Network+ cert for the last few months. I have 3-4 years of professional hands on experience. Been studying from an Network+ Course Technology text I had left over from a prep class with a healthy mix of supplementary material and practice exams online.

This question is for those who have passed the exam.. which text do you recommend for an IT professional with my level of experience; the Meyers Network+ or N10-004 Exam Cram book?

I have a lot of practical, "real world" knowledge but consider myself primarily a visual learner and also have some trouble retaining large amounts of obscure information for standardized tests. Thanks in advance for any recommendations!

Comments

• Options
    pertpert Member Posts: 250
    IMO Network + is really about memorizing large amounts of definitions and numerical/metric information for a standardized test. I learned quite a bit from reading Meyer's book, but most of the questions on the test are really rote memorization, very few were based on concepts or overall understanding of the material. There was some basic troubleshooting, but I found those to be mostly freebies.
  • Options
    hammer55hammer55 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I found Exam Cram to have some gaps in info needed. Read that first, then after taking several online exams, bought Glen Clarke/McGraw Hill text. Both together better than either one, but Glen Clarke better of the two.
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    pert wrote: »