Advice for recent grad

eteneten Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I recently graduated from college earning an Information Technology degree and want to pursue a career in the networking field. I currently hold A+, CCENT, and CCNA, CCNP certifications (along with a few Java certs that I studied for school). The problem is that I don't have any relevant working experience in the field, nor do I possess any help desk experience as well. I worked as data entry, telemarketer, and office admin while in school to pay off some tuition.

My question is where should I head next as far as certifications go? Many entry level jobs (1-2 years experience) whether it be Help Desk Support, or Network Admin, do not require Cisco certs (and only CCNA if they do) and the responsibilities in the job description barely mentions operating with Cisco IOS. I see lots of jobs requiring Microsoft skill-set rather than Cisco. Would it be more beneficial to diverse into MCSE, or dig deeper with Cisco?

Pay is not a factor to me, but IT related volunteer jobs are almost non-existent where I live, in Canada.

Comments

• sidsanderssidsanders Member Posts: 217 ■■■□□□□□□□
    greetings...

you meet any fellow students who are employed in the field who mught be able to help? any teachers? did the school offer any job assistence? dont give up looking!!
    GO TEAM VENTURE!!!!
  • BradleyHUBradleyHU Member Posts: 918 ■■■■□□□□□□
    um....u didnt need to say you hold a ccent & ccna IF you hold a ccnp....its already implied that you have the others...#imjustsayin
    Link Me
    Graduate of the REAL HU & #1 HBCU...HAMPTON UNIVERSITY!!! #shoutout to c/o 2004
    WIP: 70-410(TBD) | ITIL v3 Foundation(TBD)
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    BradleyHU wrote: »
    um....u didnt need to say you hold a ccent & ccna IF you hold a ccnp....its already implied that you have the others...