Systems administrator possibilities

Dr_AtomicDr_Atomic Member Posts: 184
I'm exploring the possibility of becoming a systems administrator - my friend at work who's more familiar with the requirements for this has given me some advice on it. As I already have a CCNA, he said that if I were to get my A+, which would show my knowledge of hardware and the hands-on stuff, then get my MCSA, which would show my knowledge of Microsoft servers and technology, then I would be in a great position to land a systems administrator job. He said he knew someone who just had an MCSA and was doing this job making $80k/yr(?!)

As a CCNA, I'm glued to a monitor, watching alarm boards and am not able to move for eight hours, which I hate. My hope is that as a sysadmin I could at least talk to people and move around to some degree - especially if I'm in a medium-sized corporate setting, where I need to go here and there checking things out, etc.

Keep in mind that I'm entirely willing to pursue this course to obtain the aforementioned certs, but I'm not going to spend the rest of my life studying, pursuing cert after cert. I've spent the last four years obtaining them and I have no desire to, say, get an MCSE, SCCP, CCNP, etc, etc. The A+ and MCSA I feel could be obtained without too much difficulty, knowing what I know already. I'm just curious as to what those of you with sysadmin experience think of my plan.

Cheers.

Comments

• Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You could go for the A+ but with your background, picking up an MCSA and studying A+ and Server+ material might be enough.

You could also go for the MCITP stuff instead of the MCSA.
  • Dr_AtomicDr_Atomic Member Posts: 184
    knwminus wrote: »
    You could also go for the MCITP stuff instead of the MCSA.