I need advice on the jo...[18Yrs old, confused]

ScytheX10ScytheX10 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
I need advice on the jobs and getting in them in this field.

Little back story. I've been researching and playing with the IT field, specifically networking and security field for quite a while. Currently I'm a student going for my 2year in IT Networking & Security. I'm also studying to take my Network+. In the long run, I plan on shooting for a some broad-spectrum certs such as the N+, and some vendor specific certs from Cisco or MS. So far I'm finding a lot of the material in the N+ study materials and a lot of the stuff being taught in my classes is stuff I have quite a firm grasp on.

Onto the real part.
I was just looking at jobs online, just for the hell of it, not actually intending to obtain a job quite yet. But I noticed every single job I found required about 2 years of experience. I found almost no entry level jobs in my area. Which leaves the question; How does one get a job, when all the jobs require previous job experience? This kind of scared me.

I know in my mind I have the technical expertise and knowledge to administer a small network, or something simple like working at a help desk or call center, but I do not have the work experience to show it.

Can someone explain to me how is one supposed to get INTO a career in this field after they have the certifications and or a 2-4 year diploma if all jobs require prior/related experience?

Sorry if this is lengthy, but I'm just a bit worried on what I'm getting myself into. I'm worried that I will spend all this money on education and certifications to end up screwed

Thanks.

Comments

• ScytheX10ScytheX10 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I really need to learn to look before I post.

Just read the 'state of the job field' sticky on this board. Which cleared a few things up.

But if anyone still has any input I would appreciate it :D
  • thenjdukethenjduke Member Posts: 894 ■■■■□□□□□□
    ScytheX10 wrote: »