What's the fastest way to escape help desk?

camarrowoodcamarrowood Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice on which certification that I should go after.

Here's my background. I graduated from college back in '09 with a B.S. in Computer Science (Gardner-Webb Univ.) and quickly realized how foolish I was not to have been more competitive with my grades. I had a 3.2 overall g.p.a. thanks to my attitude towards liberal studies classes. 3.72 in my major area class (which is what I put on my resumes lol) Anyways, I had to spend the next 8-9 months paying for my decision to make b's and c's in classes like history or biology when I should have made A's. Job hunting was tough for new grads in the summer of '09 no doubt. But if nothing else I learned that you don't take over the world in a day. You start at the bottom, and you're damn happy to be there. But you never take your eye off where you want to be.

So now here I am at the bottom. Approaching my 6 month mark working as tech support/help desk. The job pays horrible, but it has got to be killer on a resume. I write code in vb/vba, network p.c.s, and troubleshoot windows all day long. I mean customer service, tech support, AND programming. That's like 3 departments rolled into one guy. The job is SUPER busy too, and I love it! (minus the customer service. I hate customers.)

And now my dilemma: I am here in a help desk position that would look good on a resume along side a network cert when trying to get a job as suppose say a server admin in about 2 years. (I've had my eye on a government run data center near my house for some time now and I occasionally apply when they post job openings, but never do I hear back. Still a guy can hope.) However, I would really rather be gearing up for a job as a software developer. Software developing has got to be the hardest field to get your foot in the door, and in the end I don't even know if it will be worth it.