Need help on security+

kishan619kishan619 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
i am master degree student.i have no experience. so can i do security+ directly.

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    There's no specific requirement that you have experience, just a recommendation. It's also recommended that you have your A+ and Net+ first as the tests tend to build off of each other a lot.
    It is highly recommended that you study the material for the test. Go to www.comptia.org and get a download of the exam objectives and get a good book. This book Amazon.com: CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide (9781439236369): Darril Gibson: Books is one of the best you can find.
    Good luck in your studies.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    earweed wrote: »
    There's no specific requirement that you have experience, just a recommendation. It's also recommended that you have your A+ and Net+ first as the tests tend to build off of each other a lot.
    It is highly recommended that you study the material for the test. Go to www.comptia.org and get a download of the exam objectives and get a good book. This book Amazon.com: CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide (9781439236369): Darril Gibson: Books is one of the best you can find.
    Good luck in your studies.

I whole heartedly agree. I watched the Nuggets for this exam and read Darill's book front to back and Darill's book definitely takes the cake.
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I didn't know about Darrils book before I took the exam. The Sybex study guide was ok and then with Labsim/testout thrown in I squeezed out an 855
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□