Help me choose please...3 options..

R000TR000T Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have the following options available right now apropos linux training.

I am from an Industrial Eng background and am making a career change. Have limited experience with IT. Know a bit of C++, Linux, fundamentals of networking, H/W etc...Mostly self taught knowledge reading up.

So now, I have the option to;

1) Attend a RHCT bootcamp ($4500) in 3 weeks time.
2) A LPIC-1 bootcamp (3500) in 3 weeks time.
3) CBT learning along with books, internet, library etc., starting whenever I want to.

One way or the other, I have till the end of July to complete my learning. I plan to eat, sleep linux for the next 40 days...However, am unable to decide the best route. I also just started my Trainsignal CCNA traning and will be devoting part of my time in a day for that as well.

I am gonna be paying for this myself so financially, it would be a little stretch with RHCT but would be comfortable with LPIC. But if its worth it, I can afford it.

Would appreciate your advice in helping me choose. Thanks again.

Comments

• rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Either option 2 or 3. I believe the Red Hat cert is for people who are highly experienced with Linux.

If you're more of a self-study guy, option 3 would honestly be the best; you could get materials for probably LPIC-1, 2, and even 3 without coming close to $3000 (depending on who you choose).
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    With all the information online and the small expense of a few of the better vendor texts...I'd be real hesitant to go with Opt1 or Opt2. For me, the only choice is option 3.

Can you find any other solutions in your community to learn the material? Are there any Linux groups? You could self-study and learn with local peers rather then $3K.