What kind of job to get with no experience at all

keeranbrikeeranbri Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I have graduated about a year ago, at devry university with my BS in technical management, and my track was in computer networking. From the time I finished untill now, I have not gained any experience not even one bit because I could not afford to get any internship from school while I had a full time job and being a full time husband and dad. However I managed to finish with honors at the end.

I plan on studying for my A+ just to get my foot in the door? Will that help me get my big break since I have a degree? What kind of job can I expect to get?

Comments

• rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    keeranbri wrote: »
    What kind of job can I expect to get?

You may be able to land a job doing phone technical support or possibly level 1 help desk. I started out as Technical Support for an ISP and that served as a base to move in to Help Desk and eventually System Administration. While your options may be limited, try and find something that will teach you skills that will benefit you as you move up. Also with the limited options caveat, landing a job that values and provides training will benefit you in a large way.
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I plan on studying for my A+ just to get my foot in the door? Will that help me get my big break since I have a degree? What kind of job can I expect to get?

That should break you in the door or a help desk role. Or you could be looking at working at a pc repair shop. You won't be raking money in hand over fist, but $10-$15 is a pretty respectable income. Stick it out there for awhile, and then you can move up.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■■■□□□□□□