How much time for the 70-643

earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
I just started studying for the 643 and was wondering how much time others who have done this test put in.
I'm using the MS Press Training Kit, TrainSignal, and I'll be using Transcender. Labbing as much as I can so I'll learn the material the right way.
I'm also going to be using Claymoore's sticky thread for extra resources.

So far I'm doing ok with learning deployment and activation. I've barely scratched the surface on the hard stuuf for this exam.
No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd say it could take you from 1-3 months, depending on whether you use 2008 at work, your learning speed and retaining the material. It took me about 3 months because we dont use 2008 at work just yet (we should have it soon hopefully) and study took a bit of a backseat due to work and family reasons.

I'll give you a few tips that I took away from my preparation and two stabs at the exam. You should really lab up everything you possibly can. I didnt have a 64 bit computer so couldnt lab up Hyper-V at all and I couldnt find any vurtual labs either. So I watched Conrad's Hyper-V nugget more than a few times and read Technet and made notes along the way. You should absolutely know Terminal Services Gateway and anything to do with SSL certificates. Lab up IIS extensively too, absolutely know the command line way of configuring IIS. If something in Terminal Services can be done using GPO's, lab it and know it well.

Reading material: I have stopped using the MS books for the exams now, I only read the blueprint and read Technet and lab it up. I watch the Nuggets first for a primer and then read Technet and lab up as I go. I have read the Serve 2008 Unleashed book here and there and it's not a bad resource. The Resource Kit for 2008 is pretty good too.

HTH.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..