GSEC, SSCP and Security+

Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
So I am pretty sure that Sec+ is the lowest of the three but what about the GSEC and SSCP. They both seem like they are similar in career level and the DOD seems to view them in the same light. The Sec+ and the SSCP both take 1 year off the SSCP. The SSCP seems to be more of subset of the CISSPs objectives. The GSEC is SANS advanced fundamental cert which provides prerequisite knowledge to their more advanced certs. Since I have no where near enough experience for the CISSP it seems like doing the SSCP would be less helpful. The GSEC would be good since I want to do at least 2 other SANS certs in the future. I am trying to compare the objectives but it would seem the GSEC quite comparable to the SSCP. The reason why I am wondering is I am trying to set my budget for next year and doing SSCP instead of GSEC would save me a lot of money (about 400). I just want to see what some of you think. GSEC or SSCP?

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'd personally do GSEC; the SANS name carries a lot of weight. I know people who have gotten hired because of that certification alone. The SSCP is still relatively unknown (not that it's a bad cert or the content isn't good).
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    dynamik wrote: »
    I'd personally do GSEC; the SANS name carries a lot of weight. I know people who have gotten hired because of that certification alone. The SSCP is still relatively unknown (not that it's a bad cert or the content isn't good).

I think you are reading my mind. That's my thoughts exactly.
  • rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I agree too. One thing that scares me about SANS is the renewal fees.

GIAC Certification Renewal

But if you're doing SANS you're already making that kind of money anyway icon_lol.gif
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□