GCIH - Final Thoughts

rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□
Just some random final thoughts after taking the GCIH bootcamp this past week.

1. Awesome course! I probably enjoyed it more than the GSEC.
2. Besides being awesome, it was also very frustrating at times for me (I have very little experience in scripting and programming).
3. It was a very eye opening course, as well as scary at times.
4. Bryce Galbraith was our instructor, and he was awesome! For both SANS courses I've taken, both instructors have been great.
5. CTF event. It was fun. I didn't win, but I had a fun time doing it.
6. I really need to start learning Linux and getting a better feel for it. I've downloaded BT4 and Ubuntu and loaded them in VM's - now just need to start playing with them.
7. My brain hurts. I think I'm going to take it easy the rest of the year.

Oh yeah, and I passed the test!
CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    That's awesome, congratulations!

What's up next after the break?
  • rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□
    dynamik wrote: »
    That's awesome, congratulations!

What's up next after the break?

I need to finish my MCITP:EA - I was originally planning on having it done by December of this year but I've had too much going on lately! I also want to to do the GCWN at Security West next year, if I can get work to pay for it/the trip. I may have to do that someplace on the East Coast/closer to the EC.

I'm going to keep playing around with Linux/BT this year as well as read Bryce or Ed's book so I can tie in and get better with the material I've learned in the classes.
    CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS
    Have you applied to the work-study program?

That drops the course down to $800: SANS Work Study Program