Starting in Wireless Technologies

shoebotshoebot Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, Im fairly new to TE and have got some good advice already, so thanks. Im very close to figuring out what type of path I want to go down, but just had a few questions about starting in Wireless technologies.

I have no certs yet, Im about to start Network+ and am interested in this field, so what wireless cert should I aim to start with? Am I correct is saying that I should start with CWTS, then CWNA?

Your help is appreciated :)
Thanks

Comments

• Chris:/*Chris:/* Member Posts: 658 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yeah you should do CWTS then CWNA. From what I have heard the Wireless theory is substantial compared to the Cisco exams. Work in parallel to the Cisco Wireless exams working up to the CWNE and the CCIE Wireless and you should be golden.
    Degrees:
    M.S. Information Security and Assurance
    B.S. Computer Science - Summa Cum Laude
    A.A.S. Electronic Systems Technology
  • Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Maybe rather than focusing on a specific cert at first you should maybe look into researching the technology in general and flesh out that knowledge with specialized certs. I'm talking wikipedia high-level reviews. Typically when I'm exploring a well-documented but new-to-me technology I'll start on various wikis and just dig deeper and deeper following every link of interest. That way when you go to dig into a cert you're familiar with lots of the material and it makes more sense.
    CCNP | CCIP | CCDP | CCNA, CCDA
    CCNA Security | GSEC |GCFW | GCIH | GCIA
    pbosworth@gmail.com
    http://twitter.com/paul_bosworth
    Blog: http://www.infosiege.net/
  • AmcoAmco Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • mamonomamono Member Posts: 776 ■■□□□□□□□□