Is Knowing T-SQL required to administer a SQL Server

genXrcistgenXrcist Member Posts: 531
Hey all,

I wanted to learn more about administering an SQL server as far as installing, maintaining, backing up and restoring so my company agreed to pay for me to attend a training class. I spoke with my training coordinator over at benchmarklearning.com and they told me that the class I wanted to sign up for (6231 Maintaining a Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Database - Microsoft) had to be preceeded with a T-SQL course (2778 Writing Queries Using Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Transact-SQL - Microsoft).

So we took them at their word and signed up & paid for the T-SQL class thinking I would eventually attend the Maintenance course. Well I'm finishing up the 3rd and final day of the T-SQL course and I gotta say, I don't know what my coordinator was smoking.

I have no background in T-SQL and here I am in a class full of Developers who manipulate data in Access and want to learn to do it in T-SQL. This is SO far removed from what I do and what I want to do with SQL Server.

Thus far we've had 15 minutes of the entire 3 days for using T-SQL to monitor the server itself but even the instructor himself said this wasn't something the majority of the class would be interested in...and it isn't for them!

Anyway, I'm going to write a long email to my coordinator about this but I wanted to ask anyone out there who uses T-SQL, is there any real benefit to me knowing this stuff to administer SQL Server?
1) CCNP Goal: by August 2012

Comments

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It's all the same. Most of the objects you will be accessing for server maintenance will be tables that store data regarding the system. Here is an example. Imagine you want to know who is authenticating to the SQL Server and using what method:
    SELECT
        c.session_id
       ,s.login_name
       ,c.auth_scheme
       ,c.net_transport
       ,s.host_name
       ,s.login_time