Options

Planning to get ITIL certification need advice

cpluspluscplusplus Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I am planning to get itil certification, i really am confused with different types of certifications.

do i have have to finish all one by one to get to next level certifications.

I have been working in IT field as a developer for over 15 years.

Or can i go for ITIL V3 expert level, should i first clear the foundation?

Thank you all for the helpful info.

Comments

• Options
    BW81BW81 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi, check the official site
    You have to take the foundation first, should you wish to take the intermediate exams you would need to complete an accredited course.

Thanks
  • Options
    Claire AgutterClaire Agutter Member Posts: 772 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Hi

BW81 has pointed you in the right direction - the main question is, what do you want from your certification?

You have to clear the Foundation to complete any further courses, but if you only need a general ITIL awareness (and something to stick on your CV) then you might not need to go any further.

You can do Foundation + 1 higher level course if you want to go into more depth in your area - for example as a developer you might be interested in Service Design.

Or - you can go for full Expert. This is a big investment in time and money though, so be clear what you're hoping to achieve by it.

Claire
  • Options
    Thank you very much for the info:

is this correct then:

I can't do ITIL Intermediate level without finishing foundation?

I can't write ITIL Expert Certificate with out finishing Intermediate?

I recently cleared PMP, have been working in the IT field for over 15 years.

Looking for certification that can improve my chances of getting a project manager job in the IT field.

Thank you all for the helpful info.
  • Options
    Hi there