Microsoft vs Open Source Web Development

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
What do you guys think about Microsoft Web Development (Silverlight, ASP.net, etc) vs Open Source Web Development (PHP, MySQL, etc)? I ask because while I still believe I'm leaving technology I am looking into some alternatives to what I do now (helpdesk) and I am wondering about job outlook. Also, because I was a student I got a lot of the Microsoft software for free (an initiative to get students to go with Microsoft products). I like the idea of open source and I don't rule out switching to it, but right now it's about job outlook.
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Chris:/*Chris:/* Member Posts: 658 ■■■■■■■■□□
    With programming I prefer the Open Source stuff and Java over all of MS code bases. Microsoft really keeps adopting new shiny tech into their code library and not fully testing it. Just because programmers want it right now does not mean you should release the product. This has caused much of their code base to be much less stable but it has caused their languages to quickly advanced though. You can still do the same work with the open source languages but you do not have a pretty little packaged tool that has the code in it for you already. As far as security goes in comparison ASP has far more vulnerabilities than its open source competitors.

Now all that being said MS is learning from its mistakes and trying very hard to improve their stuff. Learning any of the technologies are not going to hurt you and you have people who are fanboys of either side.

If you want to learn how to program properly though do not use Visual Studio (if you can) it cans processes and produces code that violates a lot of the best practices out there. With Microsoft languages you do not have much of a choice but when doing PHP, Perl, Java and so forth use Netbeans, Notepad++ or Eclipse Classic.
    Degrees: