Need some advice

jimmyjunior33jimmyjunior33 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone I happened to stumble upon this awesome website a while ago and have been lurking around ever since taking bits and pieces of info here and there. I now have a question that I am hoping someone here can answer.

I am studying for my Sec + exam so that I may have some credentials once I get out of the military and am wondering what else I should look into as far as taking. I would like to try and knock out two separate exams while home on mid-tour leave so can someone suggest what else I should take along with this exam? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

My background is 4 years in the IT field for the army doing various things so if you'd like anything specific please feel free to ask!

Thanks,
James

Comments

• jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    A+ and Network+. Maybe something with Microsoft or Cisco.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • joshmadakorjoshmadakor Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A+, Net+ and Sec+ might be more feasible than Microsoft and Cisco for your current situation. Then again I've never been in the military and I've never taken a Cisco/Microsoft test. I'm just judging by the amount of labbing that should be done with preparing for Cisco/MS certs, whereas you can read a book and do practice questions and pass CompTIA tests.

My Opinion of the CompTIA Trilogy:
    A+: Easiest
    N+: Least Enjoyable (Lots of stuff to remember, but definitely doable)
    Sec+: Most Enjoyable, Most difficult

Hope this helps
    WGU B.S. Information Technology (Completed January 2013)
  • badboyeeebadboyeee Member Posts: 348