I'm glad I found this site here is my story I want to get into IT

kidjudgekidjudge Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
After 10+ years in aviation I have decided that I want a new career. I have always enjoyed computers, working on them and figuring out how they work. I currently live in Pittsburgh and my dream is to get to Florida so I figured IT was the way.

I applied for a job at Best Buy in the Geek Squad here in Pittsburgh in hopes of gaining experience. At my current job I work 7 12 hour shifts with 7 days off and I cant go to a normal school so everything I do is online.

I bought Michael Meyers book A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, 4th Edition
and I am studying that here at work to get my A+ Certification and I think next I will go for network.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated..Am I on the right track? I have set a goal of 3 years to complete as much as I can.

I decided against Ashworth and Penn Foster I felt that I could do it on my own

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    kidjudge wrote: »
    ]..Am I on the right track? I have set a goal of 3 years to complete as much as I can.

Download a copy of the objectives from CompTIA.
    Work though those in addition to Meyers book should be very helpful!

3 years to accomplish what? So, get more specific with your goals. A+ is geared toward candiates with 500 hours of experience (which is about a half year) but it should include more than a mere ram install. So, pickup some old boxes and build/tear apart and rebuild these. Scavage for old hardward and test it out...be curious.

However, if your interest doesn't lie with Hardware and single box troubleshooting, than be prepared for the next steps of networking and beyond (well, boxes on the nextwork (or clients), servers and switches!!)

And if you find you have more interest in switches than you may wish to merely read the A+ stuff, but not test and look toward higher level certs in the Cisco family.