Options

Thanks for advice on putting together a lab BUT...?

mjonesmjones Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ok, I am a newbie I do have the A+ and Network+ and more than a general understanding of the concept of Networking but still need help trying to put this lab together (so please work with me). I went to the Cisco website and looked at their products, and noticed that the 2950 switches stated "END OF LIFE"? I do not want to purchase something that is/will no longer be valid. (Is this true)? Also, I had to navigate their (Cisco) site just to find that information out.

I noticed that they mention their 2960 series, is this now in place or the replacement of the 2950? Is the 2960 more than what I need? Someone please explain IOS 12.4? Do I purchase that separately or does it come installed on the switch (and what switch)?

What switches and routers (and other components) WILL I need to have full knowledge/understanding to pass the CCNA exam.

Here is the cheapest brand I saw for the 2960 series:

Cisco Catalyst 2960-24TC-S - switch - 24 ports - managed - rack-mountable

Is that more than what I need?

I really do not want ANY outdated equipment PERIOD. I want the latest and minimum amount of equipment to hone my skills.

Any and all responses are welcome.

Thank You

MJones

By the way I went to the CDW site and they do not even SELL any 2950 switches.

Comments

• Options
    ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
    Most lab equipment is EOL. There is a market for EOL/used equipment, and if you buy routers/switches for your lab their value lies in helping you complete the CCNA/CCNP/CCIE objectives. The 12.4 IOS has all of the features you would need to complete these objectives. Who buys this old junk? People like you and me trying to get certified. There thousands of us across the world.