Advice needed please

CPAndyCPAndy Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

I am very confused about what should be my next move. I have a 1st degree in Business IT that i received this year with a view to a career change into IT but it is proving difficult at my age (4icon_cool.gif to getting a foothold in the industry. The usual problem of jobs needing 6 months experience to get a start and I haven't got this although I have 15 years of IT in my day to day life and as a hobby. Since finishing my degree I have taken and passed my A+ and now want to take Microsoft certs. I am more interested in the deployment side than development and so am considering studying for the MCST in Win7 and maybe Vista but I think that may not be useful in the real world. I think a lot of companies still use XP so is that worth taking to give me more opportunities in the workplace. I want to carry on learning to gain as much knowledge as I can. The thing I want to know is if I am not in the industry how many of the courses can I take without experience in the workplace. Please can anyone advise me on what I should be taking.

Thanks Andy

Comments

• SteveLordSteveLord Member Posts: 1,717
    Vista would be pointless. XP is less pointless to a degree.
    WGU B.S.IT - 9/1/2015 >>> ???
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    1`) Vista- the OS cert test is easy but since it's not widely used the MCITP on Vista would carry little weight. I'd say no weight but since deployment wise Vista and Windows 7 are pretty equal if your using Server 2008 instead of Server 2008 R2..The OS cert test itself for Vista is easy but carries little weight except that it can be used as the OS requirement for the Server MCITPs.
    2) XP- will still be around a while. XP still hoilds a fairly wide margin of usage in the corporate world so that cert could be useful.