Options

New Laptop (also: new to laptops)

bermovickbermovick Member Posts: 1,135 ■■■■□□□□□□
I just picked up my first laptop (ever). I'm a bit embarassed, as it's white with flower patterns all over it but oh well; it's specs were a bit better than the other systems available at the store. I can always skin it anyway.

Now, I'm totally new to laptops, but for desktops, since I normally build them myself, I don't have to worry about driver issues, etc; I get discs with the hardware. Will I have any problems if I were to, say, wipe the hard-drive of 7 home and everything that came pre-installed and install 7 professional, or XP, or even linux, or will there be major issues with drivers, etc?

It's an HP Pavilion if it matters.
Latest Completed: CISSP

Current goal: Dunno

Comments

• Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    Laptops tend to have unusual or custom hardware in them added by the manufacturer. Things like controlling any media control buttons, power management and how to enable the webcam. You'll need to locate drivers for those devices and most of the time, you'll be forced to get them from the manufacturer. If they don't have suitable drivers for that device then you just have to accept it won't work properly.

Going from 7 Home to 7 Professional should be fine. I think most laptops come with 32 bit and 64 bit drivers also so thats not too much of an issue either. Getting XP to work with everything may be a problem if they don't supply drivers for it and Linux again may have some problems with custom hardware.
  • Options
    impzimpz Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
    bermovick wrote: »
    I just picked up my first laptop (ever). I'm a bit embarassed, as it's white with flower patterns all over it but oh well; it's specs were a bit better than the other systems available at the store. I can always skin it anyway.