Setting up VM lab....stuck on something easy...

Dryst999Dryst999 Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
So i'm just now setting up my VM lab while I wait for my MS press books to come in to start studying. This is my first time ever messing with servers besides remoting in to restart services etc so it's all semi-new to me.

I have a server 2003 R2 machine setup as my DC, all i've done so far is install DCHP/DNS/AD and created a test domain

I have a server 2008 R2 machine setup that i've done nothing to but join to the domain, I will run ADPREP on my 2003 machine later and also make this machine a DC

I have a Windows 7 machine running that's added to the domain

My issue is that for some reason I can't ping between machines by either IP address or name. When I ping by name it will resolve the IP address that's assigned to the machine... but I get a request has timed out response. I know this is something simple but i'm not sure why i'm unable to ping other machines on the domain, DNS appears to be correct since it's resolving the name... does it have something to do with my VM's running a bridged NAT connection?

Comments

• willhi1979willhi1979 Member Posts: 191
    Make sure Windows Firewall or another firewall isn't blocking the ping. Some firewalls automatically block ICMP Packets.
  • Norrlands TurkNorrlands Turk Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Windows Firewall blocks echo requests by default in Server 2003. So probably thats what it is.
    I would also suggest setting up the virtual network in a isolated environment first, not with bridged NAT settings.
    WIP (Q2 - 2012):
    Undecided
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    What Norrlands Turk said is correct. For creating a virtual network between VM's it is recommended to use the host network option in VMWare. That is what I found on a VMWare how-to and that is what I used in setting up my 2008 Server DC and two XP Pro workstations and joining them to the domain.