Options

Confusion between Ethernet, MAC, and data link layer

roghanroghan Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm studying for CCNA by one week, and in particular I'm in Chapter 1 (Introduction to networking basics). I understood that each layer has its protocols: Application-HTTP/FTP/..., Presentation-SSL/...,... However, I have a bit confusion about Ethernet and MAC icon_confused.gif:. MAC is a sub-layer of Data link layer (together LLC), ok, but is it even a protocol, right? Instead what is Ethernet?? A protocol? Another sub-layer?

Comments

• Options
    capitanuionutcapitanuionut Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
    roghan wrote: »
    I'm studying for CCNA by one week, and in particular I'm in Chapter 1 (Introduction to networking basics). I understood that each layer has its protocols: Application-HTTP/FTP/..., Presentation-SSL/...,... However, I have a bit confusion about Ethernet and MAC icon_confused.gif:. MAC is a sub-layer of Data link layer (together LLC), ok, but is it even a protocol, right? Instead what is Ethernet?? A protocol? Another sub-layer?

Ethernet is a standard. It defines :
    - the pshysical cables for connecting equipment at physical layer.
    - how frames are encapsulated at Layer 2.
    - how different equipments have access to the network (CSMA/CD). -

The OSI model is a reference/theoretical model on wich all these standards and protocols have been created, it's not something like a protocol wich has it's rules and all that.
    I'm not sure i was very clear but i hope i helped.
  • Options
    thedramathedrama Member Posts: 291 ■□□□□□□□□□

Yeah, Ethernet is a standard which uses both physical layer and data-link layer to operate. It defines a communication between hosts which reside on the same link and sharing that link. Nowadays, Ethernet is known as the only LAN standard because token ring and others are not found attractive. icon_cheers.gif