MPLS and BGP journey

tomaifauchaitomaifauchai Member Posts: 301 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi, after some hard read and research on cisco website, i've finally made my first MPLS VPN lab to work, nothing huge, but i think i'm on the good way!

When i started i was a complete noob on this technology and the more and more i advance into it, i'm really loving it! It's a bit hard to motivate myself because i know that this stuff wouldn't be in my day-to-day task in my internship/first job, but i wanted to know about MPLS.

So here's the lab i've built in GNS3

labmpls1.jpg
C       172.16.1.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
D       172.16.3.0 [90/2681856] via 172.16.1.1, 00:14:44, Serial0/0
C    192.168.1.0/24 is directly connected, Loopback0
D    192.168.3.0/24 [90/2809856] via 172.16.1.1, 00:14:44, Serial0/0
[B]R1#[/B]
Tracing the route to 192.168.3.1

1 172.16.1.1 84 msec 8 msec 104 msec
  2 10.1.1.2 [MPLS: Labels 16/20 Exp 0] 44 msec 28 msec 12 msec
  3 172.16.3.1 [MPLS: Label 20 Exp 0] 12 msec 24 msec 12 msec
  4 172.16.3.2 20 msec *  76 msec
[B]R1#[/B]
[B]R5#[/B]sh ip route vrf CUST1

B       172.16.1.0 [200/0] via 3.3.3.3, 00:31:59
C       172.16.3.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
B    192.168.1.0/24 [200/2297856] via 3.3.3.3, 00:31:59
D    192.168.3.0/24 [90/2297856] via 172.16.3.2, 00:33:44, Serial0/0

I redistributed eigrp into bgp and bgp into eigrp on both sides.

I think my VPN work correctly now!
If i want to have an eBGP session to announce a public ip range now, besides the VPN process, can i do it under the default bgp instance without entering the address-family sub-menu ?

Comments

• millworxmillworx Member Posts: 290
    Yes anything not pertaining to the VRFs you can do under the default global process. My motto is, when in doubt, try it out! Like so:

router bgp 1
    no synchronization
    bgp log-neighbor-changes
    network 10.10.10.0 mask 255.255.255.0 <
    Global Statement
    neighbor 4.4.4.4 remote-as 1
    neighbor 10.10.10.2 remote-as 2 <