CCENT or CompTIA Network+ ?

GoldencupkakeGoldencupkake Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok, so I was reviewing the CBT of CCENT and CCNA and I have to admit, they look rather daunting. The question I have is very straight forward:

Is the CCENT something I should go after right after the A+ I just got, or should I go for my Net + then come back to the CCENT later. I heard they go hand in hand. If that is accurate, which should I go for first?

Thanks a ton, you guys are always helpful.

Comments

• NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Go to CCENT.

I went from CCNA without any certs. However, I sacrificed my social life and I went through networking class when I was in college (but that was 5 years ago).
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I've got the Net+ and I'm currently studying for the CCENT. The Net+ is nothing but resume filler (and not really good at that) and is not in-depth enough to teach you any useful skills.
    Go staright for the CCENT.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
    Screw CCENT, go straight for your CCNA. The composite test (IMHO) is easier than taking two separate tests. Either way you are going to lose a lot of hours studying Cisco, might as well take it all in the face at once. Don't be intimidated by the CCNA test, lots of people have taken and passed it. You will be happy that you did.
  • Panzer919Panzer919 Member Posts: 462
    I have both only because I had to. I was about to take my ICND1 test when I was told I couldnt be promoted without my Net+, I studied for 2 days and passed. Network+ might be something worth reading just for the information but I don't see it being anywhere near as valuable to you as your CCNA.
    Cisco Brat Blog

I think “very senior” gets stuck in there because the last six yahoos that applied for the position couldn’t tell a packet from a Snickers bar.