Exchange Accessible on the internet

dave2011dave2011 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
hey everyone

Just thought I would kickstart my first post with a question.

I'm currently studying for the 70-662 exam and I was wondering In a home lab environment how could I go about making my exchange server accessible through the internet Im guessing this are the things I have to do if im correct:

get a public IP from ISP
configure home router to allow port forwarding
create the neccessary records in DNS For the Exchange server

Im new to exchange so I dont have that much info on it any help would be appreciate alot.

Comments

• undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    For purposes of a home lab I wouldn't recommend going that far. Most likely port 25 is being filtered on your ISP anyhow. But you are correct, you would need to configure external DNS with an A record pointing home and an MX record directing mail to it. Don't forget to open port 25 to your server. If port 25 is being filtered though for external tests you'll need to open a different port, which will make your MX records useless for receiving e-mail. It would be better to just replicated that all in a virtual environment in your lab instead.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • dave2011dave2011 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thanks for your response.

I understand I have just purchased the exchange 2010 training from Trainsignal and thought I could follow as much possible even though its not good to do that in a home environment I just wanted to get a feel of it.
    if you have any site links that could point out to me how do that I would appreciate it.
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You're pretty much asking a 'how long is a piece of string' question. Quite vague to be honest. You need a link to do what exactly ? Just for the 'accessible from the Internet' part?

Question is, how do you want to access 'it' from the Internet.