I've been a service manager for over 3 months now and here is what I have discovered

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
  1. Utilization, Cost, Profits rule my world.
  2. I am getting a lot better with Excel, Word, PowerPoint and Cognos (IBM reporting tool)
  3. My advanced technicial skills aren't erroding quite yet, but they sure the heck aren't to sharp.
  4. Presentations, Presentations, Presentations are a weekly event for me. Besides Outlook, PowerPoint is becoming one of my most used tools.
  5. Having more of a business back ground would help out tremendously. Obviously they don't have too many certs for those.
  6. ITIL, ISO, ITSM makes a lot more sense now. It's starting to come together and the knowledge gaps are starting to decrease in size. My functional knowledge is increasing as well.
  7. I know very little when it comes to service management. I thought I knew how this world worked, WRONG ;)
  8. Any suggestions would be appreciated
Just a rant, but this board has been very helpful in my journey. Take care all.

Comments

• vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
    But the question is, do you enjoy doing it?
  • lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds like my worst nightmare. Do people enjoy this kind of job?
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
    My list is starting to look like that. It's fun, but you learn all sorts of 'interesting' things each day.

For me, my #9 would be that nobody realizes the importance of change management in a large organization.
  • pzeropzero Member Posts: 192
    Jinuyr wrote: »
    For me, my #9 would be that nobody realizes the importance of change management in a large organization.

+1. Sick of people making changes without telling anyone which is against the policies of the company. STOP BREAKING MY STUFFS!!
  • EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661