Options

Exchange 2007

FizzedineFizzedine Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all

Im currently going for my MCITP in Server Administration and hope to be certified by the end of August.
After this I was contemplating to go for the MCITP in exchange 2007. Is exchange 2007 still highly used or should I go for Exchange 2010.

any advice will be much appreciated

Fizzedine

Comments

• Options
    CChilderhoseCChilderhose Member Posts: 137
    You are probably better off skipping 2007 and going directly to 2010. I use 2003 at work but we are upgrading directly to 2010 so that is what I am studying to get the MCITP: EMA.

Good luck.
    VCAP-DCA, VCP 55
    MCITP: EA, VA, SA
    VCAP-DCD, VCP6 -- COMING SOON
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I concur... by the time you're ready to start, 2010 will have been out for nearly 2 years. Skip 2007.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    I would do Exchange 2007 only IF:
    1. You're in an extreme hurry;
    2. You have access to free or dirt cheap study materials-- especially if you already have some piled up, or someone you know has them readily available.
    3. Your test lab won't support the latest version for whatever reason (hardware, OS, etc).
    4. You just need an E-mail cert, and you don't expect to become a heavy duty enterprise Exchange admin anytime soon. For many jobs, you can sell being certified on an older version of a product and upgrade your skills once you get in; but that's one more thing you have to sell/work on.