Options

Looking for help with cert path

phenixphyrephenixphyre Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am somewhat of a beginner in the IT field. I have gone to school for a 2 year "diploma" in IT. I finally got a new IT job after a year and a half. I have 2 years of experience in Help Desk. I am looking to get started on my voyage into the land of certifications. I have a pretty good knowledge of PCs, so I don't think I would need the A+. I think that I want to start off with MS certs but not sure.

Any help would be great!!!

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    A few I would recommend

MS 70-680: not for the feint of heart
    CCNA: Cisco certifications are respected. I've worked in 6 different environments and I have never heard anyone talk bad about Cisco certifications. It's the only certification I can say this about.
    Security +: This CompTIA exam keeps gaining traction. No labbing required just read Darrell Gibson's security + book and you are set. This is "low hanging fruit" and can really strengthen your resume. This will require a lot less time than the others.

With all that being said you will ultimately have to choose the route you want to go. If you aren't sure do security + while you ponder your decision.
  • Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    N2IT wrote: »
    A few I would recommend

MS 70-680: not for the feint of heart
    CCNA: Cisco certifications are respected. I've worked in 6 different environments and I have never heard anyone talk bad about Cisco certifications. It's the only certification I can say this about.
    Security +: This CompTIA exam keeps gaining traction. No labbing required just read Darrell Gibson's security + book and you are set. This is "low hanging fruit" and can really strengthen your resume. This will require a lot less time than the others.