Description of how awesome MCSEs are

Shadly1Shadly1 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
I need a good resource for what exactly an MCSE is and does. I mean, I know what I'm capable of (everything) but how do I word it to others? I could rattle off all the tech I know but that would put the average Joe to sleep. I need a way to toot my own horn to a non-geek. Does anybody have something like that?

Comments

• slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
    LOL, so you wanna brag shamelessly to the common folk?

"I'm a Microsoft Engineer" has the value of being more or less true and most people will think your a doctor.
  • Shadly1Shadly1 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
    When I tell people I'm an Engineer, they think I drive a train. icon_lol.gif

I'm looking for basic layman's terms for the work I do and tech I know to add to a cover letter. If a Network Admin or Engineer sees my resume, they will understand it. If your average HR employee sees it, they'll be left scratching their heads.
  • Mojo_666Mojo_666 Member Posts: 438
    Why not just say you are an IT Engineer or IT Systems Engineer? or just that you work in IT.

No one outside of IT will care or know what and MCSE is or does.
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    This was posted before, but I've stolen it because I enjoy it.

If I was any good with photoshop, I'd stick my name on it, blow it up, and frame it. It would look great on my shelf next to all of the others. icon_cheers.gif
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • BudzyBudzy Member Posts: 117
    Devilsbane wrote: »
    This was posted before, but I've stolen it because I enjoy it.

If I was any good with photoshop, I'd stick my name on it, blow it up, and frame it. It would look great on my shelf next to all of the others. icon_cheers.gif

haha like it
  • MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□

Don't use this as a pick up line. Just stop now.
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!