Which Certifications should I get?

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All, I am new to IT and I will be graduating with my Bachelors of Arts in Management Information Systems and I currently have an internship site that I will be working at for about 5 months. My major courses in my degree program consist of Intro to Visual Basic, Database Management Systems (SQL Oracle and Firefox), Management Information Systems (Relational Database), Network Security and Digital Communications. Since I am relatively new to the field and I will be looking for employment upon graduation what certifications will make me a valuable prospect for employers? I called around to some training "boot camps" and they're quite expensive so I've been contemplating on jumping right into my Masters at WGU just so I can earn the certs. Any feedback would be appreciated?....oh and I'm currently an Accountant for a government agency with the hopes of changing careers (obviously) and I have an AA in Business and I will gradute with my BA in MIS next semester, as I stated previously. THanks

Comments

• Michael.J.PalmerMichael.J.Palmer Member Posts: 407 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The Masters at WGU is probably your cheapest route to getting certs, I took part in one of those many training "boot camps" myself for about 7 to 8 months last year to get all of my certs and granted, I did learn a lot and it did help me get into my current program at WGU, but it can put a major dent in the wallet compared to WGU.

I'd go for the Masters at WGU if you plan on doing some sort of management role in IT. At that point the other certs won't really matter for you unfortunately, the common consensus is that certifications are required for the little folks who do the grunt work, not the big guys at the top in the management positions. That's not a slight against management positions at all, just an observation of the difference between a supervising position and non-supervising position.