Options

How I Passed CISSP

Commander JamesonCommander Jameson Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
How I passed CISSP

My Background
I have been working in Information Security roles for about 10 years. In 2000 a colleague of mine explained that CISSP was the best qualification in the industry but I couldn’t see how to get it as, at that time, there were no text books for it!

Over the years I have worked on firewalls and routing (for about 5 years) and, more recently, in policy and governance (for about 5 years). I would say that I knew about half the domains pretty well so for these I needed a formal read through of relevant material. For the other half I would need to learn the concepts.

In 2007 I started a distance learning business degree, so putting in hours of self-directed effort has become natural for me. After I got my degree I wanted to get information security qualifications for my CV/resumé.

My Action Plan
I looked at the exam schedule on the ISC2 web site in early 2011. The immediately upcoming exams were fully booked, so I had to look further ahead.
The exam availability choice was either 10 weeks or 15 weeks away. I wanted an unhurried ‘quality’ week per domain to learn, so I chose the one that was 15 weeks away.

I then drew up the following timetable – and stuck to it!

Week 0 - Book the exam, read (ISC)2 requirements, order books
Week 1 - Security Management Practices
Week 2 - Security Architecture and Models
Week 3 - Access Control Systems and Methodology
Week 4 - Telecommunications and Network Security
Week 5 - Computer Operations Security
Security+ exam
Week 6 - Cryptography
Week 7 - Application and Systems Development Security
Week 8 - Physical Security
Week 9 - Business Continuity Planning and Disaster Recovery Planning
Week 10 - Law, Investigation, and Ethics
CISSP exam

The books that I bought were
CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition by Shon Harris
CISSP Exam Cram (Exam Cram (Pearson)) by Michael Gregg