Hi any computer forensic professional out there?

BRabbit_AliceBRabbit_Alice Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi! I am currently a student in BCIT's B.Tech in Forensic Investigation-Computer Crime option. I am now in my final year and I am so worry even with this degree won't help me landing on any jobs in the forensic field. My instructors recommended me to take the SANS courses but it's super expensive icon_sad.gif Do you guys have better recommendation? I guess what I am lacking right now is a certificate and experiences icon_sad.gif

Thanks!!!!

Comments

• computer g33kcomputer g33k Member Posts: 149
    I would suggest speaking with JDMurray, he's the moderator for the InfoSec section of the forums. He might be able to point you in the right direction.
    There's room for those who want the easy work and those who want the challenges. You will, of course, generally be compensated in proportion to what you shoulder. :smile:
    Currently Studying: Anything & Everything/Cisco Networking Academy For CCNA. (on hold)
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    BTW, welcome aboard.
  • EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    If you have, or can obtain, a security clearance, I know the FBI is doing a lot of hiring for their Regional Computer Forensics labs right now.

DC3 (www.dc3.mil), the DoD Computer Crimes Lab might be another place to look.
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    My degree is over there and eventual career, but my plan is to work on the IT side of things first. Easier to get into and it pays the bills while I build up a resume.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • demonfurbiedemonfurbie Member Posts: 1,819
    yep i work sec for the court system

pm me your questions ill see if i can help
    wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!
    WGU MS IT Management: done ... double woot :cheers:
  • BRabbit_AliceBRabbit_Alice Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Everyone wrote: »