Options

Inevitable paycut

okplayaokplaya Member Posts: 199
I thought TE would be a good place to post this, so here it is. To make a short story even shorter...I started as an intern Feb of last year doing NOC work. This was also my senior year of college. I graduated in December '10 and the internship ended. I was making roughly 37k. A little luck, and I landed some contract work (through staffing agency) at the same place, different department. Went from 37k to 85k over a weekend, literally.

Now, 85k was more than I ever imagined making straight out of college. I got the position due to networking during my internship and not based on technical skills alone. I still am under-qualified for the position, but I try my best and am very likable which is why I've lasted the entire year and can still stay a little longer. So, my total IT experience comes in at around 20 months and I have a CCNA and BS in IT.

As with all contract work, it must come to an end! So, during my current job search, I am realizing that making close to 85k seems highly unlikely with my background and experience. Now, I've taken a pay cut before, but it was not more than 10k. In this situation however, it's looking like I'm going to be taking a significant pay cut.

With that being said, I'm just posting this to see if anyone has gone through anything similar and how things turned out? Also, if you were in my position, how much of a pay cut would you be willing to take?

Comments

• Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Think of it this way..you were very lucky to get such a great paying job right after college. Now after the contract ends, back to reality. Just because you made 85K doesnt mean you deserve the salary for the rest of your life. Take it as just work experience and move on to your next job, and be realistic about how much you should make with a degree, CCNA, and 20 months of experience.

I
  • Options
    nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□