Need some expert direction

DarixxDarixx Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

my name is darixx im 22 years old and have been working in the construction industry as a leading supervisor for the past 2 years.
my real ambition has always been to get into some serious IT career paths though this was hard with my entire family being in construction. i have recently made up my mind to go through a complete career change and come back to what i wanted in the first place.

Problem is a own a house and mortgage so i cant start from the bottom. i had an idea to study for my MCITP with windows server 2008. i have no previous experience with IT work and no previous certifications. so i plan on getting my TIA fundamentals cert and then going to study for (70-640) - (70-642) - (70-646) using the microsoft self paced training guides

am i being unrealistic? will this be too hard for me? i am a big fan of study and self improvement and will devote lots of time towards getting my MCITP but i think i should ask some experts first

Thank you in advance

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I think it's an excellent plan, you just have to make sure you set realistic goals based on how much time you can spend studying. Be prepared to spend a month studying a few hours a week for some exams, and several months grabbing every possible moment after work and on the weekends studying for others. You'll have to make sure you lab out as much as possible, do a lot of reading, and go from there; if you're hoping to knock out the MCITP: Enterprise Administrator cert from scratch without any prior IT experience you're probably looking at something like a year or so to complete the journey and not burn yourself out.