DTP? Really, anyone using it in a production network?

CucumberCucumber Member Posts: 192
I was wondering, if anyone has used or is using this Dinamyc Trunk Protocol thing in a production network?

And, if so, really? You think its safe to use, does it not contradict any basic idea of having an stable network? I would rather have my trunks on or off. Even cisco recommends having your trunks on to save some seconds when the switch is loading, and for other security reasons as well.

Personally I have never seen it in action, I have been in the bussiness for a decade, but hey, I would like to know if anyone out there is using it.

Just wondering.

EDIT> By the way, the question arises since Im studying just now to recertify my CCNP. :D
I hate pandas

Comments

• 4_lom4_lom Member Posts: 485
    You have been in the business for a decade but you do not know how to spell Dynamic Trunking Protocol? Also, Pandas are awesome! :D
    Goals for 2018: MCSA: Cloud Platform, AWS Solutions Architect, MCSA : Server 2016, MCSE: Messaging

• CucumberCucumber Member Posts: 192
    lol well English is not my primary language, please excuse my grammar failures, not saying you are a grammar **** or anything. Entschuldigung mein Freund.
    I hate pandas
  • MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
    I wish I could speak german... icon_sad.gif

I've seen a few instances where DTP was used in the network of my current employer, but I have since corrected all instances I have found.
  • SubnetZeroSubnetZero Member Posts: 124
    No thanks!

We hardcode everything to either static access or trunk and turn DTP off with the "switchport nonegotiate" command ;)

While no trees were harmed in the transmission of this message, several electrons were severely inconvenienced
    :cool:
  • ColbyGColbyG Member Posts: 1,264
    I'm a bit surprised that so many are against DTP. I don't use it too frequently, but I don't really see the issue with it.

Do you guys statically configure your etherchannels too?