Options

Does it sound like it's time to really find another job?

CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
As some of you know, I was really excited when I got my first IT job ever back in June of last year. I had been learning a lot up until maybe a month ago. Now, I only learn something new every "once and a while". Anyway, thats not the point of this thread. As some of you also may know, I'm a contractor employed by a staffing agency. I had been contemplating looking for a new job about two months ago. I figured I'd stick around and see if I could go perm. Well... That never happened and it doesn't look like I'll ever go perm. That is also NOT the point of this thread. Fast forward to about a week ago, someone told me that they "overheard" some supervisors talking about "cutting back" and how all of the perms are safe. I didn't know what to make of it. Now, fast forward to yesterday, and they've canned 13 people on the helpdesk! All of them contractors. It really looks like they are making good on that promise. I don't try and get into gossip, but I was told from someone that it was because of these peoples attendance and QAs. A lot of people are really thinking it is because they are needing to cut back, and the people who are gonna pay for this need are the contractors. They have been offering "voluntary time off" all week, even on crazy busy days too. I feel like I'm ready to move on pass helpdesk, really. I'm just worried that I'll end up on some other helpdesk just bouncing between helpdesk. Whats worse is I fear that they aren't done and they'll do another round of firing and that I may be in the crosshairs. Some of those fired yesterday were really great people! I'm a really great person and the customers are almost always happy with my service. I would really hate to be without a job too. I sorta see this as a chance to finally make a move elsewhere because it's obvious to me (by the way things work around here) that there will be no moving up wit